Why in Africa

Every time I prepare to return to Africa, I wonder inevitably what leads me to do, after having been there, for different reasons and in different places, at least thirty times.

I think the answer is all in one sentence I found in a book written by a great friend of this continent, and a great supporter of environmental conservation, who honored me with her virtual friendship on facebook: Joyce Poole.

I quote from memory, hopefully not too upset the beautiful words that are engraved in my mind and in my heart, because I find them profoundly true. The phrase is roughly as follows: “For me Africa is the challenge of a life lived to the limit: it is the certainty of uncertainty”. Thank you, Joyce!

Rispondi

